Read the latest Pulse

Tokyo edition

News checked through

Published 16 Sept, 23:20 UTC

You are reading a saved edition, not live news. News window: 15 Sept, 23:15 UTC to 16 Sept, 23:15 UTC. Labelled ongoing and upcoming items retain their own dates.

The catch-up

News from the last 24 hours, plus clearly dated ongoing developments and upcoming events.

Robinhood says it will soon support USDC deposits and withdrawals on Circle's Arc

@RobinhoodApp said it will soon support @arc , the Layer 1 launched by @circle , so customers can deposit and withdraw USDC on that network where the feature is supported. The post is a product plan, not a live button. Arc opened public mainnet the same day with USDC as gas. Circle's launch materials also list Robinhood among onchain trading and liquidity names. Timing, regions and whether this is the brokerage app, Robinhood Wallet, or both were not specified.

Read story

Robinhood

1 development

Robinhood says it will soon support USDC deposits and withdrawals on Circle's Arc

@RobinhoodApp said it will soon support @arc , the Layer 1 launched by @circle , so customers can deposit and withdraw USDC on that network where the feature is supported. The post is a product plan, not a live button. Arc opened public mainnet the same day with USDC as gas. Circle's launch materials also list Robinhood among onchain trading and liquidity names. Timing, regions and whether this is the brokerage app, Robinhood Wallet, or both were not specified.

Why it matters Arc is a new dollar-fee chain aimed at payments and tokenized assets. If Robinhood actually turns on native USDC rails, users could move dollars onto Arc without a separate bridge. Until the feature is live, treat it as announced. It also ties Robinhood's brokerage franchise to a chain that is not Robinhood Chain.

Read the context

Robinhood Chain is Robinhood's own Ethereum Layer 2, built with Arbitrum technology and live since 1 July 2026. It was pitched for tokenized stocks and onchain finance. Third-party apps, especially the Pons memecoin launchpad, have driven much of the early trading. That is separate from this Arc plan. Arc is Circle's public Layer 1. Fees are paid in USDC, settlement is described as sub-second, and the validator set starts permissioned, with firms such as BlackRock, DTCC, Visa and Mastercard named as founding validators in phases. Public mainnet opened on 16 September 2026. Robinhood's wording is limited: support is coming "soon," and USDC deposit and withdrawal would be available "right on the network where supported." That leaves product surface, eligibility and go-live date unstated. Circle's launch release names Robinhood in a long list of trading, liquidity and execution names. That is not the same as a live Robinhood deposit flow. Readers who want Arc USDC now still have to use Arc Portal, a supporting wallet or exchange, or wait for Robinhood to ship the transfer path.

Link to this story

Solana

3 developments

Column, the FDIC bank behind Brex, ships 24/7 USDC and USDT banking rails

Column N.A., the @column bank that @williamhockey said powers firms such as Brex and Slash, put USDC and USDT into its own banking core. Incoming stablecoins credit as dollars and outgoing transfers debit the account and settle onchain, with no prefunded float. Official pages list Solana, Ethereum and other major chains, and Column's API examples use Solana. @solana highlighted the Solana path. The product is for fintechs building on Column, not a retail Solana wallet.

Why it matters This is a bank, not an exchange wrapper, connecting Solana-dollar tokens to ACH, Fedwire, FedNow, RTP, SWIFT and cards around the clock. Teams researching payments, treasury or card spend against USDC on Solana can inspect a live bank API instead of a weekend wire queue. Retail holders still cannot open a Column account from a Phantom seed phrase.

Read the context

Column is a U.S. bank (Member FDIC) that sells banking infrastructure to other companies. CEO William Hockey said the firm rebuilt its core so a customer's bank account and stablecoin address sit on the same ledger. That is the claim that matters: conversion is an internal book entry, then a chain send or a fiat rail payout, rather than a wait for a correspondent bank's wire window. Supported assets in the launch materials are USDC and USDT. Networks named by Column are Solana, Ethereum and other major chains. Solana's own post framed the news as USDC and USDT on Solana, convertible to and from dollars 24/7. Column's public API samples set network=solana. The company also says card authorizations can hit the live stablecoin balance and that Visa and Mastercard settlement can be done in stablecoins. Column wrote that it built the product with large fintech customers, naming Slash and Brex, and that stablecoin volume on the stack is already running at tens of billions annualized. Those figures are company-reported. Users never hold the private keys. Access is through Column's APIs and its banking customers, subject to bank compliance.

Link to this story

Phoenix lets traders post SOL as margin for perps on crypto, stocks and commodities

@PhoenixTrade , Solana's onchain perpetual futures venue from Ellipsis Labs, said SOL is live as collateral. Traders can deposit SOL and back positions across crypto, equities and commodities without first swapping into USDC. The product is in beta. Phoenix's site geo-blocks some regions. The announcement does not publish haircuts, which markets accept SOL, or whether profits still settle in USDC.

Why it matters SOL holders who want leveraged exposure no longer have to sell the asset for stablecoin margin first. That changes how someone uses a SOL treasury on Solana perps, and it adds SOL-price risk inside the margin account. Check the live app for eligibility, collateral weights and settlement asset before sizing a position.

Read the context

Phoenix Trade is a Solana-native perpetuals exchange that runs an onchain order book. It has listed crypto, U.S. equity and commodity markets and previously described USDC as the margin asset. Solflare already routes some users into Phoenix from a self-custodial wallet. The 16 September change is collateral, not a new contract list. Official wording is that SOL can back perpetual positions directly and that USDC is not required to do so. Secondary write-ups described an 80 percent collateral weight and USDC settlement of profit and loss. Those mechanics were not in the Phoenix post reviewed here, so they remain unverified. The linked trading URL is live in some locations and blocked in others. Phoenix still labels the venue as live in beta. Anyone using SOL as margin is taking both the perpetual's market risk and SOL's own price risk against the maintenance threshold.

Link to this story

Jupiter starts shutting JUICED Loop and tells users to close positions this month

@JupiterExchange said JUICED Loop on @jupiter_earn will be retired in the final week of September. Borrow limits are being cut to stop new looping, JUICED incentives on the loop end, and a fee magnifier is applied to leftover positions later this month. Anyone with an active JUICED loop is told to close it before that deadline. The JUICED token and JupUSD earn vaults are unchanged, and spot holders do not need to act.

Why it matters This is a product shutdown with a deadline, not a price headline. Loop users on Solana’s largest aggregator need to unwind before extra fees hit. Inspect the Jupiter Earn interface and the official posts for the exact close window.

Read the context

Jupiter is Solana’s main swap aggregator and also runs Earn products, including Offerbook-style looping that borrows against yield-bearing collateral to magnify returns. JUICED Loop is one of those leveraged earn paths. The sunset does not, on the company’s telling, change the JUICED token itself or the JupUSD vaults. The company did not publish a clock-time for the late-September fee magnifier in the posts reviewed.

Link to this story

Base

1 development

Ethereum and Base drop a shared wallet standard, leaving two account designs

Ethlabs’ @decentrek said the attempt to merge Base-led EIP-8130 with Ethereum’s EIP-8141 (Frame Transactions) broke down last week. Both drafts aim to make wallets easier: passkeys, apps paying fees, bundled actions. Ethereum is optimizing for censorship resistance, privacy and post-quantum readiness; Base is optimizing for scale, customization and compliance. CoinDesk notes wallets that span both networks may have to support two transaction formats. Neither design is live on mainnet. EIP-8141 is a must-ship candidate for Ethereum’s Hegotá upgrade. EIP-8130 is already on Base’s Vibenet test network and listed for a Cobalt upgrade in September.

Why it matters This still matters because wallet and app teams building on Base and Ethereum now have a near-term fork in how accounts will work. It is a standards split, not a live user-facing change today. Watch Cobalt and Hegotá, and treat September Cobalt dates as listed, not proven.

Read the context

Account abstraction is the industry term for letting a smart contract, not just a raw private key, approve and pay for transactions. Ethereum and Base tried to keep one native design so a wallet would behave the same on Layer 1 and on Coinbase’s Layer 2. @decentrek said every technical compromise asked one side to give up a core goal, so they split. EIP-8141 and EIP-8130 remain drafts. Hegotá is scheduled after Glamsterdam later this year; a must-ship label is priority, not a guarantee. CoinDesk’s September 16 write-up is secondary coverage of the Monday disclosure.

Link to this story

Arc

3 developments

Uniswap is live on Arc, including Circle's custodied bitcoin token cirBTC

@Uniswap said v2, v3, v4 and UniswapX are live on @arc , in the web app, wallet and trading API. It is a preferred DEX on Circle's new Layer 1 from day one. cirBTC, bitcoin issued by @circle and backed 1:1 by BTC in Circle's custody, trades and can be provided as liquidity on Uniswap without a Circle account. Institutions mint and redeem cirBTC through Circle Mint. The posts do not list pool depth, fees or which pairs have real liquidity yet.

Why it matters Arc opened with USDC as gas and a stablecoin-first design. Uniswap is the first full DEX stack with a public swap link, so a reader can actually try a trade instead of waiting on a launch list. cirBTC is a way to get bitcoin exposure into that dollar-fee environment. Liquidity and custody rules still have to be checked on the live app.

Read the context

Arc is Circle's EVM Layer 1, public as of 16 September 2026. Fees are in USDC. Circle describes sub-second finality and a permissioned validator set that will add named institutions in phases. Uniswap Labs said the same products people already use on other chains are wired to Arc: the AMM versions, UniswapX, the web app, the wallet and the API. A swap URL points at chain=arc. Uniswap also said it has processed a large share of onchain stablecoin volume, which is the market Arc is aiming at. cirBTC is Circle's wrapped bitcoin, not native BTC on Bitcoin. Circle says it is backed by BTC in Circle custody, convertible 1:1 from BTC, cbBTC or wBTC with no fees in Circle's own materials, and that reserves are verifiable onchain. Uniswap says anyone can swap or LP it; mint and redeem for institutions go through Circle Mint. That split matters for retail users who can only trade the token, not redeem the underlying. Day-one listing is not the same as deep books. Inspect the Arc pools on app.uniswap.org before assuming size.

Link to this story

Aave V4 is live on Arc with USDC, EURC, WETH and cirBTC markets

@aave said Aave V4 is live on @arc . The deployment has a Core Hub and two markets: a main market for USDC, EURC, WETH and cirBTC, and a forex market pairing USDC and EURC for stablecoin borrowing. Aave Labs deployed it for Aave DAO, with risk work by LlamaRisk and prices from @chainlink . A public explore link is on pro.aave.com. Founder @StaniKulechov said the instance is meant to power real-world credit and agent activity.

Why it matters Lending is one of the few Arc apps with named assets and a working URL on day one. Someone who wants dollar, euro, ether or Circle bitcoin credit on the new chain can look at Aave V4 rather than wait for later listings. Rates, caps and collateral factors are live parameters, not the press-release roster.

Read the context

Aave is a pooled lending protocol. Users supply assets to earn yield or borrow against collateral. V4 is Aave's current architecture. Arc is Circle's new chain, so this is a fresh instance, not a migration of Ethereum deposits. The official thread is specific: Core Hub, a main market (USDC, EURC, WETH, cirBTC) and a USDC/EURC forex market. Deployment was by Aave Labs on behalf of the DAO. LlamaRisk did the risk analysis. Chainlink is named for oracles. Circle's launch release had already named Aave as credit infrastructure alongside Morpho. cirBTC on this market is Circle's custodied bitcoin token. EURC is Circle's euro stablecoin. Borrowing across those two in the forex market is a stablecoin basis trade, not a crypto-beta loan. The explore link is the place to verify which reserves are enabled, what LTV applies and whether liquidity is still thin after genesis. Geographic and compliance screens on Aave's frontend may still apply.

Link to this story

Morpho is live on Arc, with earn and borrow in its app from day one

@Morpho said it is live on @arc as the chain’s credit infrastructure. Morpho Blue on Arc is reachable at app.morpho.org for variable-rate earn and borrow. The company also listed Arc Earn Kit, Pulsar Money Earn and SafePal Earn as day-one Morpho products. Circle Mint borrowing against cirBTC, extra wallet and exchange distribution, and Morpho Midnight fixed rates on Arc are described as coming next, not live.

Why it matters Lending is one of the few Arc launch claims a reader can click into today. Check app.morpho.org for actual markets, rates and collateral, and treat Circle Mint borrow as announced, not available.

Read the context

Morpho is an onchain lending network. On Base it already powers Coinbase-branded crypto-backed loans and USDC lending. Circle’s Arc launch named Morpho and @aave as the day-one credit venues. Morpho’s own post and blog are the first-party evidence that variable-rate Morpho Blue is the live piece, while several distribution and fixed-rate products remain on a later list.

Link to this story

Elsewhere in crypto

2 developments

House Ways and Means advances crypto tax bill 38-5, with a $10 network-fee exception

The House Ways and Means Committee voted 38-5 to send H.R. 10357, the Digital Asset Tax Certainty Act, to the full House. The text would skip gain or loss on qualifying network or transaction fees of $10 or less, extend wash-sale rules to traded crypto, address stablecoin and lending treatment, and treat mining and staking income as ordinary. It is not law. The House is expected to stay out until after the November elections, so a floor vote is not imminent.

Why it matters This is the first committee-passed federal crypto tax package, one day after the Senate blocked the CLARITY market-structure bill. If it ever became law, wash-sale harvesting and fee-lot accounting would change. Until then it is a marker of what tax writers could accept, not a filing-season rule.

Read the context

U.S. tax law still treats most crypto as property. Spending a token, including to pay a network fee, can create a capital gain or loss. Brokers are already sending Form 1099-DA data to the IRS. That is why a de minimis rule has been a long-running industry request. H.R. 10357 does not create a general exemption for buying coffee. The $10 figure applies to qualifying network and transaction fees. People with more than 5,000 digital-asset transfers in the prior year, plus certain brokers, dealers and validators, would be carved out, subject to later Treasury rules. Separate titles cover simplified accounting for widely traded assets, dollar stablecoins, lending agreements, charitable gifts, broker reporting and a voluntary disclosure program. Mining and staking are addressed as to source and character. A staking deferral idea from earlier drafts is not in this vehicle. The Joint Committee on Taxation estimated a net $500 million revenue raise over fiscal 2027-2036, with wash-sale rules raising money and the small-fee exception costing money. Those are staff estimates, not enacted effects. Committee passage is one step. The House and Senate would still have to pass identical text. Coverage notes the chamber is leaving until after the midterms, which makes 2026 enactment unlikely even though the 38-5 vote was broadly bipartisan.

Link to this story

Deutsche Bank plans euro-area crypto custody for bitcoin, ether and stablecoins

Deutsche Bank said it will launch digital-asset custody for European institutional and corporate clients this year, subject to the remaining regulatory process. The bank will hold wallets and private keys. Initial assets listed are bitcoin, ether, USDC, EURC and EURAU. Tokenized financial instruments are on the roadmap. Timing, geography and the asset list can still change. The first clients are meant to come from the Corporate Bank and Investment Bank, including asset managers, hedge funds, brokers and sovereigns.

Why it matters A large European bank offering regulated custody is a concrete on-ramp for institutions that will not self-custody. It is planned, not live. Watch the regulatory close and the first asset list, not a launch-day trade.

Read the context

Deutsche Bank is Germany’s largest bank. Its September 16 media release says the custody service is designed so clients do not have to build their own wallet infrastructure. Bloomberg timed the statement at 06:00 UTC. The bank has previously worked with digital-asset specialists including Bitpanda and Taurus, according to secondary reports; the official release says it will use selected external technology providers for defined components and does not name them. Crypto-assets would not have deposit-guarantee protection comparable to bank deposits.

Link to this story